How to get started with python?

• Hey all,

I'm new to the hardware side of things. I've been playing around with CoDrone for a bit, it's pretty fun. I'd really like to get started with using python for the CoDrone. I'm looking for any tips on how to get started there. I've read whatever is currently available but none actually talk about how to upload your python code.

I've set up VSCode, I have python-arduino installed. I've ensured I can upload .ino files successfully.

Here is my arduino.json:

{
        "port": "/dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART",
        "board": "rokit:avr:SmartInventor-mega32_v2",
        "sketch": "hover/main.py",
        "output": "./output"
    }

When I try to verify the...sketch?, it fails with this error, same when uploading:

[Starting] Verify sketch - hover/main.py
    Loading configuration...
    Initializing packages...
    Preparing boards...
    Verifying...
    java.io.IOException: No valid code files found
    	at processing.app.Sketch.listSketchFiles(Sketch.java:117)
    	at processing.app.Sketch.<init>(Sketch.java:54)
    	at processing.app.Base.<init>(Base.java:390)
    	at processing.app.Base.main(Base.java:144)
    [Error] Exit with code=1

Any pointers would be awesome!

Thanks

• @aimbotd We're still putting together instructions for the Python side of things, which is why there's so little documentation on Python at the moment. It's still a bit early, so the setup can be quite cumbersome.

I'll tag @robolink_arnold to see if he can help you with the messages you're seeing. If you're feeling ambitious, we can set some time to help you with setup. Otherwise, we should be publishing Python setup instructions in 2 months.

Let me know if you'd like to set up a video call for a walkthrough of the setup.