Pairing CoDrone Pro remote and drone

• Hello,

I'm a teacher and my class has a full set of CoDrone Pro drones for each of my 25 students. I'd like them to all be able to fly their drones at the same time for some scientific investigations we want to perform in class. Trouble is, when we try to pair each individual remote (that they've already built) with a specific drone; either they connect with a drone that's not theirs or once they are paired to the correct drone, it seems I have to unpair that connection to successfully upload code. My goal is to pair each remote with only one drone, and I've tried to do this by uploading code that includes the drone address. Perhaps, my Arduino Sketch is written incorrectly. Any guidance would be phenomenal! Thank you.

• Hi @gregoryconely, welcome! Sorry to hear you're having trouble. We've found that Bluetooth often has this problem when there are several devices in the same space, so issues with disconnection will appear more often with a large number of drones. This is something we're working on resolving!

In the meantime, what we do is pair the remotes one-to-one prior to the class, going through this tutorial about pairing with a specific drone. That way, during your setup() function, you're actually running a connection to the specific drone address. Like so:

void setup(){
        CoDrone.begin(115200);

byte droneAddress[6] = {0xEC, 0x3F, 0xE5, 0xC2, 0xB5, 0xD0};
          //This will be replaced with your CoDrone's unique address
        CoDrone.AutoConnect(AddressInputDrone, droneAddress);
    }

You'll be able to see in the step #5 of that lesson how to find your unique address in the serial monitor.

Then, if you're having issues reconnecting, we recommend grabbing the drone and remote and stepping behind a closet or just outside the classroom until the drone's tail light turns solid green. Hopefully that's helpful!